I had kind of an epiphany today as to why I am feeling more optimistic this time around and why suddenly the light went on again and I am determined to succeed right now. It's the difference between desire and guilt. Up to a few weeks ago I was driven by guilt to succeed. I kept telling myself I have to do this because I SHOULD do it. I HAVE to lose weight because I that's is what is expected of me. I did it before, I SHOULD be able to do it again. I sat there feeling guilty about all the things I SHOULD be doing and wasn't doing. Feeling like I was letting my team down and letting my family down. Beating myself up... Should HAVE, WOULD HAVE, COULD HAVE = GUILT GUILT GUILT!
well... that's changed. I don't know why. Something just clicked again. It's about WANTING to do this again. The DESIRE to do it is back. I want this because I want to feel good about myself again. I have the desire to better myself for ME... not because i feel like it's something I am supposed to do. I WANT to do it. I am excited again. I am involved again. I am realizing this IS a part of my life and I haven't left it behind like I thought I did. I just needed to be ready to start again.
Spark had a very timely email yesterday that really struck a chord with me and it was about not giving up. It had a chinese proverb attached to it and THAT is exactly what has been stuck in my head for several months... hell the last year. It went something like this, " Be not afraid of going slowly; be afraid only of standing still." When I first read that quote It hit me that I was afraid I HAD quit and I was definitely afraid I was standing still.
I read it a few more times and it really stuck with me all day... Then last night it dawned on me that I forgot that it was okay to go slowly. It was okay not to be ashamed of what I viewed as a failure (gaining 85lbs). It was okay that I wasn't ready to do this just yet... IT'S OKAY!!! For some reason that turned the guilt into desire. It lifted so many bad and anxious feelings I had been having. I remember now... It is only a failure if I quit... and that.... I DEFINITELY have not done.
Have a good day monkeys! :)
Keep up the good work! I'm pulling 15 hour days right now getting ready to open a new YMCA- I was just about to text you when I saw that you had just posted. Seriously! Anyway, VERY proud of you!
ReplyDelete